top of page
Search
  • kellygarciamex

Let's Doodle!

I've noticed in my own classroom that students love to draw. They'll doodle while listening, and that's fine with me. I enjoy watching students have fun. I heard the term "SmashDoodle" from a very smart Spanish teacher, Karen Rowan, not too long ago.


It's a way for students to show in pictures and words that they understand the lesson (unit, theme, etc.) I used this idea in my Spanish class as we read Comprehensible Input (CI) novels together. Students would listen, translate, discuss as we went along, then they drew the main points and added words as needed. I discovered that many of my students are talented artists. Music adds to the atmosphere as they draw. This week I played Celia Cruz singing Guantanamera and Gloria Estefan with Mi Tierra since my students were illustrating what they'd learned about Cuba.



Drawing is a relaxing way for students to show understanding.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Professional Development

I don't know about other teachers, but I love to be able to learn without changing out of my jammies! I spent an otherwise "lazy" Sunday doing just that: watching PD online. The best part? It was all

Literacy Development

Today was a busy workday in Kearney. Our school's teachers along with several other schools' teachers met to learn ALP (Academic Literacy Program) strategies to assist students. The morning was spent

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page